My Dad, the Lord Mayor

This was the title that my father, Owen Canfield, was honored with Monday morning in front of Torrington(City Hall) in a short ceremony headed by mayor Elinor Carbone. This title is one handed out each St.Patrick’s Day to a T-town native who is recognized as an impactful and difference-making person. Dad, you’ve been that and so much more.

As I watched my father accept this honor and speak with those who had gathered for this event, I got a lump in my throat thinking about everything that he had done for mom, myself and all my brothers and sisters as we were growing up to make sure that we had a roof over our heads and food on the table. If I had to guess, I would say that he wasn’t necessarily happy about working multiple jobs when we were all younger, but he did it anyway because he knew that was the right thing to do.

Despite his busy schedule, dad always had time for mom and all of us kids as we grew up and that(and moms’ superb parenting) are the main reasons that we all turned out to be decent, productive people.

I’m so proud to say how well my father is known throughout Torrington and, I’m quite sure, so many other towns around Connecticut. As the youngest child in our family, there are so many things that dad probably did that I was to small to remember, but I’ve been told before by family members what kinds of things he did.

As a winner of numerous Sportswriter of the Year awards, yesterdays honor certainly wasn’t his first but he accepted it with the same class and pride that he accepted those SOTY awards. I think that says a lot about the kind of person someone is.

Once again, congratulations dad. Each one of us(kids) is very proud of you.

3 thoughts on “My Dad, the Lord Mayor

Leave a comment