Thanksgiving: a Great Time as Usual

   I’m writing this only a few days removed from another great Thanksgiving celebration with my father and a few of my brothers and sisters. Like many years before, we had dinner at my sister Sheila and her husband Chris’s house in Southbury.

  It’s now, during the holidays when I say thanks to the good Lord for blessing me with such a large and loving family. From the time that Annette, Eric and I arrived to join the rest of my family, there was nothing but talking, laughter and food, lots and lots of food.

For as long as I can remember-my long- term memory is actually better than my short-term memory- I have always thought that Thanksgiving was great holiday. Of course, much of that has a lot to do with the food, but I also know that is because it is a rare opportunity for me to see family members that I do not get to see a whole lot. While speaking to one another via phone or email is nice, it is so much nicer to see my bros and sis’ in person.

On top of that, of course, is the food, from turkey salads to stuffing and more. Throw in a number of desserts, mainly pies and cakes and, for you big eaters out there, it makes(and made for me) a sweet ending to a fabulous day.

Some people may have read this and said,”So, I had a lot of the same things at my dinner.” Even so, try to remember how many people were not or ever have been as fortunate as you or I to have a happy celebration and reunion with family members we may not or do not see very often.

As nice as the spread of food that we had was, I’ll always be eternally grateful for once again being reunited with my dad, brothers, sisters, neices and nephews. I’m a lucky man.

 

Leave a comment